Natural World Heritage Sites in Argentina

Iguazu Waterfalls

Iguazu Waterfalls ©

There are eight exceptional sites in Argentina which were inscribed on the list of UNESCO’s World Heritage Sites. Of course, there are both cultural and natural World Heritage Sites in Argentina. In the following article I will present you the natural ones. The most exciting natural sites in Argentina are the following: the Iguazú National Park, the Los Glaciares National Park, the Ischigualasto and Talampaya Natural Parks and the Valdés Peninsula. If you are a nature-lover and you would like to make a great tour around the beautiful country of Argentina, I suggest you to read the following article before traveling.

Iguazú National Park

As some of the most breathtaking waterfalls of the entire world, the Iguazú Waterfalls are major visitor attractions in Argentina. The falls are protected within a national park which wears the same name, in the province of Misiones. The national park was inscribed on the list of UNESCO’s World Heritage Sites in 1984. The fascinating waterfalls can be found on the border of Brazil and Argentina. The Iguazú waterfalls are extremely popular and attractive among visitors from all around the world. The Iguazú National Park is with no doubt one of the greatest attractions of Argentina and a must-see of the country.

Iguazu Waterfalls

Iguazu Waterfalls ©

Los Glaciares National Park

The Los Glaciares National Park is another major tourist attraction and World Heritage Site of Argentina. The national park can be found in Santa Cruz Province and is famous for its 47 breathtaking glaciers. The fantastic national park was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1981. The most spectacular glaciers are the Perito Moreno, the Viedma and the Upsala glaciers. These are also the most attractive for visitors. If you are interested in these glaciers, the best choice is to take a bus from the city of El Calafate.

Perito Moreno Glacier Tanenhaus/Flickr

Perito Moreno Glacier ©Tanenhaus/Flickr

Ischigualasto and Talampaya Natural Parks

The Ischigualasto and Talampaya Natural Parks are situated close to each other. Both are amazing and extremely popular World Heritage Sites of Argentina. The Ischigualasto Natural Park is famous for its interesting rock formations, including the Sphinx, the Worm and others. The Talampaya Canyon is well-known for its red walls and formations which are the result of erosion.

Ischigualasto National Park

Ischigualasto National Park ©

Valdés Peninsula

Situated on the Atlantic coast, in the Viedma department, the magnificent Valdés Peninsula has been a World Heritage Sites since 1999. The peninsula is a very important nature reserve which gives home to numerous animals, including sea lions, elephant seals, fur seals, Magellanic penguins and even the Southern right whale. I think that the peninsula is an unforgettable sight and you can not miss it.

Leave a Reply