Your guide to Santa Cruz Province

Cueva de las Manos lisa_aw/Flickr

Cueva de las Manos ©lisa_aw/Flickr

In case you would like to visit a real fantastic region of Argentina, full of astonishing destinations and visitor attractions, you must visit the province of Santa Cruz. It is a breathtaking region, owning some world famous sights, including the Cueva de las Manos and the spectacular Los Glaciares National Park. El Calafate and the Lake Argentino are further two popular tourist destinations.

The popularity of the region is risen by the fact that the wonderful Tierra del Fuego Province is situated in the adjacent area. Do you find this description convincing? Don’t waste your time! Make your packages and head through the southern part of Argentina, but first read the following guide to Santa Cruz Province.

Cueva de las Manos

One of the major highlights of the province is the famous cave named Cueva de las Manos. It is well-known for the paintings of hands of which it also got its name. The paintings are considered to be about 9.000-13.000 years old. It is extremely popular among visitors. The Cueva de las Manos is situated in the valley of the Pinturas River and it is quite easily reachable. The cave is a UNESCO World Heritage Site , being designated in 1999. 

Cueva de las Manos lisa_aw/Flickr

Cueva de las Manos ©lisa_aw/Flickr

Los Glaciares National Park

Another excellent tourist destination is the fantastic Los Glaciares National Park with its beautiful and immense glaciers. It is a premier visitor attraction of the entire country, being worldwide famous. As one of the highlights of the province, it attracts thousands of tourists yearly, being considered its most visited destination. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1981.

The second largest national park of the country protects numerous breathtaking glaciers, including the Perito Moreno Glacier, the Viedma Glacier, the Upsala Glacier and others. The national park occupies a large area of almost 4.500 km². Visitors are usually arriving by buses from El Calafate.

Perito Moreno Glacier Hector Garcia/Flickr

Perito Moreno Glacier ©Hector Garcia/Flickr

El Calafate

The city of El Calafate lies in the region of Patagonia and administratively it belongs to the province of Santa Cruz. It is an important tourist destination. The city is also the starting point to such important destinations like the previously mentioned Los Glaciares National Park and Mount Fitz Roy. El Calafate lies on the southern border of the beautiful Lake Argentino. Nature-lovers should make a visit to this fantastic lake, too.  

Lake Argentino

The biggest lake of Argentina is the Lago Argentino (Lake Argentino). It actually lies within the national park named Los Glaciares. The lake is very popular among nature-lovers, attracting dozens of visitors.

Lago Argentino Evelyn Proimos/Flickr

Lago Argentino ©Evelyn Proimos/Flickr

Leave a Reply